Root River Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) supervisors in Districts 3, 4, and 5 were re-elected to four-year terms.

District 3 (Spring Grove, Wilmington, Black Hammer townships) incumbent Glenn Kinneberg defeated Roger Stenhoff 5,332 to 3,209 (unofficial results). District 4 (Winnebago, Caledonia, Mayville) incumbent Vernon Fruechte ran unopposed with 8,396 votes. Incumbent Joe McManimon of District 5 (Yucatan, Houston, Money Creek, Sheldon) also ran unopposed with 8,202 votes.

SWCD supervisors serve on a five-member board, which is a non partisan, special purpose unit of government, together, they set policy and direction for local conservation programs, provide local impact on state and federal conservation programs, and administer state cost-share for erosion control and water quality improvement.

Candidates are elected county wide, however they must live within their designated nominating districts. District 1 (La Crescent, Mound Prairie, Union, Hokah) and District 2 (Brownsville, Crooked Creek, Jefferson) terms will be up for election in 2010.

For more information on SWCD's or the supervisor's duties contact Root River SWCD at (507) 724-5261, ext. 3.